The Orders screen in the Replenishment Planning module allows you to track the status and history of orders placed through PlanningEdge.
The Today's Orders screen is a simple screen that allows you to see what orders have been placed
PlanningEdge introduces the concept of an "Order," which is a single unit that encapsulates all purchase orders or transfer orders that can be done at
once through the Order Generator. In this way, if you have taken advantage of order level constructs such as pricebreaks or vendor minimums
, these are
captured. The Purchase orders, workorders, and transfer orders are still sent to the ERP system as individual units, as appropriate.
To view orders, select the period you want to see using the ribbon menu at the top left and click "Show Orders." The orders matching your inputs will be displayed. Click on a
PO/Work Order/Transfer Order number to have its details displayed in the "Order Lines" section. Click on the hyperlinked item number to load its details in the Order Schedule.
Click on an order number in the "Orders" grid to bring up the order editor. This window mimics the Order Generator, and you can add, remove items, change quantities, dates, and more.
Many statuses are assigned to orders within RockySoft. They include:
Approving, Merging and Canceling Orders
- Approved - Orders in this state have been marked as OK for release to the ERP system.
Normally, all PO's are automatically set as approved by Replenishment Planning.
- Sent - This means that we have sent the PO to the ERP system for insertion, but
as far as we know, it hasn't yet been picked up by the system. If RockySoft has access to directly update PO's into
your ERP system, you will not see this state, as they will immediately
be accepted after approval.
- Accepted - Accepted PO's have been placed into the ERP system, and we have
received confirmation that the PO is now in place. Knowledge of this status is only possible if RockySoft
has access to your ERP system, so that we can directly read the PO's in place. Otherwise, PO's will remain
as "Sent", until an update is provided to us - usually via the next morning's refresh.
- Cancelled - A cancelled PO has been removed from RP's orders. Any updates
as a result of this order are backed out and cancelled, and the PO is prevented from being sent to your ERP
- Review - Orders in this state have been created in RP, but
no further action has been taken on them. This allows an administration approval process to allow brief overview of PO's before they are
released to the ERP system, such as if they are over a dollar amount, or under a vendor minimum.
- Confirmed - Generally, the "Confirmed" status is used to indicate that the order has been confirmed by the vendor, and is
waiting approval before it is entered into the ERP system. Orders can be moved from "Review" to "Confirmed" and back via Unconfirming in the Orders
- Enqueued - Orders in this state usually have come from the Alternate Order Generator, as single-line transfer requests
in response to suggestions for where inventory can be transferred instead of bought from a vendor. Enqueued lines do not have a transfer number assigned to them yet,
and are waiting to be Merged in the Today's orders screen. Typically, all enqueued lines from all enqueued orders are merged together into new
orders, according to merging rules, and those orders are reviewed and accepted.
- Merged - This is a formerly enqueued order, which has been merged into new orders. It cannot be canceled or deleted, it remains
for informational purposes. Canceling the quantities on the order must be done in the new orders created when the merge was done.
- Error - An error has been experienced by PlanningEdge while trying to insert this into your ERP system. You may need to fix issues in the
ERP system and try re-sending this order.
For any order that is in the "Review" status, once you have reviewed the order and decided to release it, you can use the Approve icon (
release an order. Lines in the order will be updated to "Approved", and the order will be sent to the ERP system. Similarly, if you are using a vendor confirmation process, you can
confirm/unconfirm orders as necessary. Only once an order is "Approved" will it be sent to your ERP system.
As well, you may cancel an order that you do not wish to place after all, using the Cancel icon (
). The order lines will be canceled, and if the order
was placed in RP, those quantities will be removed from the 'ordered today' stream, and so on. You can also cancel individual lines in an order.
If you have Enqueued orders, likely generated from the Alternate Order Generator
, the Merge icon (
) will start the Merge Wizard, which allows you to
merge your enqueued orders into real orders which have purchase orders assigned. The Enqueued orders will be changed to 'Merged', and the newly merged orders will appear in your list
with the appropriate PO number, order number, and status assigned.